You're Hired

You’re Hired

The NRF Elects Macy’s Jeff Gennette as Board Chairman

The NRF Foundation elected Macy’s Chairman and CEO Jeff Gennette as chairman of the NRF Foundation Board of Directors, succeeding Karen Katz, former president and CEO of the Neiman Marcus Group. Danielle Kirgan, chief human resources officer, Macy’s, was also elected to the board.

Gennette, who will serve a two-year-term, was elected as the board held its winter meeting in New York today as part of NRF 2019: Retail’s BIG Show.

The Toy Association Board of Directors Names Three Candidates

The Toy Association’s Board of Directors Nominating Committee, chaired by John Gessert, president & CEO of American Plastic Toys, has selected three nominees to replace departing members while reserving the right to name two additional individuals prior to the Association’s 2019 Annual General Meeting (AGM). The 2019-2021 nominees—all representing manufacturers—are: John Frascotti, president and COO, Hasbro; Aaron Muderick, president, Crazy Aaron’s Puttyworld; and, Michael Rinzler, co-president and founding partner, Wicked Cool Toys.

There were no existing board terms subject to renewals in 2019. The Nominating Committee made special note of the exemplary service of two Board Members at the conclusion of their terms: Bruce Raiffe, president, GUND, and Richard Barry, executive vice-president, Geoffrey’s Toy Box.

Raiffe served on several Association committees and represents The Toy Association as a member of the Board of Directors of The Strong Museum in Rochester, NY. Following the acquisition of GUND by Spin Master Corp., Raiffe was not eligible for election to a third term as Association bylaws preclude two representatives of a single corporate entity serving on its board. Richard Barry has served the Association tirelessly and with distinction—he served on its Executive Committee and led the Association’s Toy of the Year (TOTY) Awards Committee, among other contributions, and is now concluding his third and final board term.

The Board of Directors sends good wishes and deep thanks to Barbara Finigan as she transitions into the role of strategic advisor at Hasbro. Finigan has served on the Association’s Board and its Executive Committee including chair of the Board Audit Committee during her tenure as Hasbro’s chief legal officer and corporate secretary.

Association board members are elected for two-year terms and may be nominated for re-election twice before being required to depart the board. Additional at-large nominations for directors may be made only in writing signed by not less than 10 percent of the regular membership of the Association and submitted to the president at least 30 days before the AGM. Notice thereof shall promptly be sent by the president to all members. Should the Nominating Committee choose to name additional nominees from the group already submitted, an announcement will be made forthwith and prior to the AGM.

The election of board members will occur during the Association’s Annual General Meeting on Monday, February 18 at 8 a.m. on Level 1, Room 1E09 of the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center during Toy Fair New York.